Gratis demo

Additional levels in Multi-level categorization

Emiel Truijen, 09 juli 2014

The Multi-level categorization in CRM offers a flexible way to classify your business transactions. The categorization can also be used to trigger follow up actions like e.g. response time determination in service request (see blog SLA determination based on categorization), propose knowledge base articles or propose a team for dispatching. Multi-level categorization is available in variety of transactions like e.g.:

• Service orders
• Service order templates
• Confirmations
• Complaints
• In-house repair orders
• Service requests (incidents)
• Problems
• Requests for change
• Knowledge articles
• Interaction records

By default the Multi-level categorization shows 4 categorization fields/levels on the screen. Service requests, Problems and Requests for change even have 2 predefined blocks of 4 fields, one block for Subject and one block for the Reason.

If these 4 levels are not enough you can easily extend the number of categorization fields on the screen. CRM currently supports up to 10 levels. In the following steps I will explain how you can extend the number of categorization levels on the screen.

Required settings

I will perform the changes from the Webui but you can also perform the changes via the workbench . If you want to perform the steps from the workbench (transaction BSP_WD_CMPWB) you need to perform the changes in view CATEGORIES of component BTCATEGORIES.

NOTE: the following steps will not work for Interaction records since another component is used.

You have opened the screen where you want to add the additional categorization level(s). Click on the ‘Show Configurable Area’ button.

Double click on the assignment block with the categorization.

1. Select the correct configuration or create a new configuration by copying one of the existing configurations.
2. Click on ‘Show Available Fields’.

You will see 6 additional Category fields that you can drag to you screen. Add the additional categorization field(s) to your screen

Go to: More -> Attributes

Change the value of attribute ‘Levels’ from 4 to 5 or more depending on the number of levels that you are using.

NOTE: If the number of levels in this parameter does not match with the number of categorization fields on the screen you can get the following error:

‘The picklist field //BTCATEGORYFIRST/CAT05 has no valuehelp descriptor.’

Save your changes.

Et voila! You have additional fields for categorization. Needless to say that you also need to maintain the values for these additional categorization level(s) in the Category modeller.

In one of our next blogs we will describe the initial setup of the Multi-level categorization.

Emiel Truijen

Read all my blogs

Receive our weekly blog by email?
Subscribe here: